A misjudgment occurred in the match between Hanwha and LG in the ‘2023 Shinhan Bank SOL KBO League’ held at Jamsil Baseball Stadium in Seoul on the 20th.
At the end of the ninth inning, which was tied at 1-1, lead batter Shin Min-jae hit a hit to create a chance to first base safely. LG attempted a bunt strategy by appearing as a pinch hitter with Jung Joo-hyun instead of Lee Jae-won, who had no hits. Hanwha Battery also pitched out in anticipation of LG’s bunt operation.
At that moment, Jung Joo-heon threw the bat into the ball to somehow save the runner’s life. And in the process, the bat hit Choi Jae-hoon’s glove and side. Jaehoon Choi collapsed in pain. Fortunately it wasn’t a major injury.
In this situation, referee Kwon Young-cheol and four referees, including Jeon Il-soo, Kim Byung-ju, and Yu Deok-hyeong, gathered and talked.
After talking with the defensive obstructionist about hitting obstruction, it was judged to be ‘hitting obstruction’. It is said that the catcher held out his glove and interfered with the hit.
Hanwha coach Choi Won-ho ran out and protested to referee Kwon Young-cheol, but it was not accepted. With 1st and 2nd base safe, Kim Min-seong hit third base and Park Hae-min hit a fly in center field.안전놀이터
Commentators Ryu Ji-hyun and Kim Tae-gyun, who were relayed that day, also said in unison that it was a “difficult decision to understand.”
After the game, KBO acknowledged the mistake of the situation. KBO explained, “As a result of the referee’s additional confirmation, it was a situation that should have been judged as defensive interference rather than hitting interference,” and “plans to take follow-up measures such as disciplinary action against the referee.”
[In the bottom of the 9th inning, when the score was tied 1-1, pinch hitter Jung Joo-hyun is throwing a bat for a bunt on first base. Photo = Reporter Kwak Gyeong-hoon email@example.com]