“I never thought…” Choi Won-jun, the man no one saw coming

“I didn’t think so…”

The KBO announced the final roster for the Hangzhou 2022 Asian Games baseball team on Monday at the Baseball Hall in Dogok-dong, Seoul.

The final 24-man roster is comprised of one to three players per club, including players who are 25 years old or younger or in their fourth year of service, and three wild cards with no age or service year restrictions (up to one per club).

The KIA Tigers had three players selected. Left-handed starter Lee Yi-ri, left-handed reliever Choi Ji-min, and outfielder Choi Won-jun were selected to the Asian Games team.

Choi appeared in 27 games for the Sangmu Baseball Club this season, hitting .214 with a .685 OPS, including 21 doubles, one home run, nine RBIs, 20 runs scored and 20 runs batted in. He plans to rejoin the team immediately after his discharge on Dec. 12.

KIA manager Kim Jong-kook said, “(Choi Won-jun) has played less this season because of injuries. I didn’t expect it. I wouldn’t have either,” he said, adding, “I think coach Ryu Jung-il picked him because of his previous good performances.”

“(Lee) Eui-ri was expected to make the national team, and (Choi) Jimin is playing well for the first time this year. I gave him a 50 percent chance. He’s performing well and I think they saw his pitches well.”

“Won-jun Choi is a member of the commercial sector. He is not limited to the military exemption and has formed an outfield.” “He can play both infield and outfield. He received high scores in air, water, and state.”

Lee Yi-ri and Choi Ji-min are missing. The team also has to worry about mound operations. “I think it’s better because we’re not missing two bullpen pitchers or two starters,” said Kim Jong-guk, “I hope we can do well and win gold. We’ll have to start thinking about the gap in August. It’s too far away to think about that. We need to think about the recent situation.”안전놀이터

Meanwhile, against the Doosan Bears, the KIA lineup consisted of Ryu Ji-hyuk (third base), Ko Jong-wook (left field), Socrates Brito (center field), Choi Hyung-woo (designated hitter), Kim Sun-bin (second base), Lee Woo-sung (right field), Byun Woo-hyuk (first base), Shin Beom-soo (catcher), and Park Chan-ho (shortstop). The starting pitcher is Adonis Medina.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.