“It’s a mistake, but there is no protest from Lotte…” Chaotic resignation punishment, free score

Is the misjudgment correct and the score correct?

Sajik Stadium in Busan on the 7th, where the Lotte Giants and KT Wiz played. It was an attack in the top of the 4th inning with KT leading 2-0. KT, who seized the chance for the 2nd, 1st and 3rd bases, aimed for an extra point. At this time, Kim Sang-soo’s batted ball hit referee Lee Young-jae, who was in charge of second base, and was deflected. So KT took a 3-0 lead.안전놀이터

But this was a mistake. KBO baseball rules state that ‘if the ball passes through the pitcher and then hits the umpire standing in the infield, the ball becomes dead’. Baseball Rule 5.06(c) Section 6 states, “When a fair ball that does not touch an infielder (including pitcher) is hit by a runner or umpire in fair territory, or a fair ball that does not pass through an infielder (other than pitcher) is hit by an umpire – Each runner who must clear a base by becoming a runner advances.”

The referees returned Park Kyung-soo, who had landed on third base, to second base according to the rules, but Jo Yong-ho, who had stepped on the home plate, should have also returned to third base, but this was not carried out. In the situation where KT had a 2-0 lead and 2 outs on first and third bases, it was the ‘correct answer’ to have 2 outs and bases full without adding a run, but the referee applied only half of the rule and KT took a 3-0 lead and 2 outs on 1st and 2nd bases. changed to , and the game continued. In addition, the Lotte bench did not protest over this, so the situation passed with KT’s score recorded.

In the end, KT, who took a 3-0 lead, hit a solo home run off Han Dong-hee at the end of the 5th inning, but won 7-1 by steadily accumulating additional points.

After the game, the referee said through the Lotte team, “The decision was wrong. However, the score was recognized because Lotte did not appeal.” If the Lotte bench protested, KT’s score might have been nullified according to baseball rules.

The scene where the batted ball hits the referee’s body is by no means a common scene. Kim Sang-soo, who accidentally recorded hits and RBIs at the same time, said, “I think I’ve seen a hit hit an umpire before, but I think it’s the first time I’ve been able to get an RBI in baseball.” On this day, Kim Sang-soo made a big success with 4 at-bats, 3 hits and 3 RBIs.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.