Will there be another upset this year…KB Financial Live Championship starts on the 25th

From the first champion Meng Dong-seop (36) to Seo Hyung-sung (26), Moon Moon-joon (41) and Yang Ji-ho (34).

All of the previous winners of the KB Financial Reebok Championship (total prize money of 700 million won), which kicks off on Sept. 25 at Blackstone Golf Club in Yeoju, Gyeonggi-do, have come from behind on the final day.

At the inaugural event in 2018, Meng Dong-seop was crowned the inaugural champion after coming from one stroke behind to finish second in the fourth round. In the 2019 edition, Seo Hyung-seok, who was three strokes back in fourth place, came from behind to win his second career title.

The 2020 tournament was canceled due to the COVID-19 pandemic, and the 2021 tournament was held for the first time in two years, with veteran Moon Moon-jun pulling off the upset. Entering the tournament tied for second place by one stroke in a tournament that was shortened to three rounds due to inclement weather, Moon rallied to win by three strokes.

Last year’s tournament continued the tradition of upset victories, with 15-year pro Ji-ho Yang coming from behind to claim his first career victory. After starting the tournament in a tie for second place, two strokes off the lead after three rounds, Yang rallied from six shots down on the final day.

One of the reasons there have been so many upsets is the challenging course at Blackstone Golf Club.

With narrow fairways and sloping greens, there were no double-digit under-par scores in any of the three tournaments except for 2019 winner Seo Hyung-seok. Seo finished with an 11-under 277, while last year’s winner, Yang Ji-ho, shot a 7-under 281 and defending champion Meng Dong-seop shot a 9-under 279. The 2021 event was played over three rounds of 54 holes.

The hole that plagued players the most in 2022 was the par-3 13th. At 223 yards, the green slopes upward and there were only 16 birdies over the four days. On the other hand, 139 bogeys, 25 double bogeys, and five triple bogeys pushed the stroke average to 3.47.안전놀이터

Due to the difficulty of the course, all cuts were made at over par. The lowest cut was 3-over-par in 2019, while last year’s event saw 70 players shoot 8-over-par to advance.

With an over-par cutoff expected again this year, it will be interesting to see if there is a double-digit under-par winner for the first time in four years.

Along with defending champion Yang Ji-ho, the tournament will feature Chung Chan-min, Park Sang-hyun, Seo Yoseop, and Lee Soo-min, who are all vying for a share of the $140 million in prize money and Genesis Grand Prize points.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.